The Frank H. Klassen Lecture was established by the Board of Directors in 1993 in honor of ICET’s Founding Father and Executive Director until his death in 1992. The Board of Directors wished to memorialize Dr. Klassen for developing ICET into the global voice of the teacher education community and for his lifelong contributions to improving the human condition through international cooperation and educational development worldwide. The Executive Committee is responsible for selecting the lecturer who will deliver the Frank H. Klassen Lecture. The speaker, selected for his/her outstanding leadership and contributions in education, will deliver the Lecture at the Opening Ceremonies of the World Assembly. ICET will award a commemorative medal to the lecturer.


In 1986, the Board created an Award for Research in Education to recognize and encourage rigorous investigations contributing to the worldwide knowledge base for teacher education. Competition for the Award is open to ICET members. Entries are evaluated and the winner is selected by the Committee on Education Research and Dissemination. The awardee receives a plaque and an invitation to present his/her paper at the annual Assembly.

Darrell Bloom Award

In 2011, the Board unanimously approved the commissioning of the Darrell Bloom award for sustained services to the promotion of educator preparation. This award recognizes individuals who have consistently contributed to the preparation of educators during their service to the organization and/or institution. Entries are evaluated and the winner is selected by the Nominating Committee. The award ceremonies take place at the annual World Assembly.