Our Board

ICET Board Members subscribe to the purposes of ICET and make contributions to the improvement of the education of professional educators through research, teaching, and leadership in their country or region. They hold positions in schools, higher education, government or the private sector.

Board of Directors Executive Committee

President (5-Year Term)
James O'Meara (Term Ending  World Assembly 2022)
Professor, Dean, Texas A&M International 

Board Chairperson (2-Year Term)
Carol Hordatt Gentles (Term ending World Assembly 2021)
University of the West Indies

Chairperson-Elect of the Board

Linda La Velle ( Term ending World Assembly 2021)
Bath Spa University

Immediate Past-Board Chairperson   (2-Year Term)       
Reyes Quezada (Term ending World Assembly 2021)
Professor, University of San Diego

Regional Vice President Africa  (2-Year Term)

 Joseph Divala  (First Term- through to World Assembly 2022)
University of Johannesburg
South Africa

Regional Vice President Arab States  (2-Year Term)


Regional Vice President-Australia / Asia / Pacific  (2-Year Term)
Dianne Cullen (Second Term- through to World Assembly 2021)
Australian Catholic University

Regional Vice President Latin America and the Caribbean  (2-Year Term)
Mariana Coolican (First Term ending World Assembly 2022)
Social Protection Policy Specialist at UNICEF
Equatorial Guinea 

Regional Vice President-North America

Deb Eldridge (First Term ending World Assembly 2022)
Academic Vice President of Teachers College  Western Governors University

Regional Vice President-Europe          
Roman Svaricek (Second Term ending  World Assembly 2021)
Masaryk University
Czech Republic

Board of Directors (3-Year Term)


Dr. Tola Olujuwon ( First term ending World Assembly 2022)
Adeniran Ogunsanya College of Education
South Africa

Australia / Asia / Pacific

Jo Smith (First Term ending World Assembly 2023)
The University of Auckland,
New Zealand


Professor Laila Niklasson (Second Term ending World Assembly 2021)
Mlardalen University

Smadar Donitsa-Schmidt ( First term ending World Assembly 2022)
Kibbutzim College of Education

Joanna Madalinska-Michalak (Second Term ending World Assembly 2023)
University of Warsaw

Sarah Younie (First Term ending World Assembly 2023)
De Montfort University

Tanya Ovenden-Hope (First Term ending World Assembly 2023)
Plymouth Marjon University, England
Marjon University, Cornwall

Arab States

Otherine Johnson Neisler (Second Term ending  World Assembly 2021)
Senior Research Consultant, Sultan Qaboos University

North America

Christy Tirrell-Corbin (First Term ending World Assembly 2021)
University of Maryland 

Latin America  and the Caribbean

Sandra Robinson (First Term ending World Assembly 2023)
The University of the West Indies, Mona, Kingston

Ex Officio (Limit of 5)

American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education 
(Term ending World Assembly 2021) 

Mapping Educational Specialist Know How (MESH)
UK (Term ending  World Assembly 2025)

Universities Council for the Education of Teachers (UCET) 
 UK (Term ending  World Assembly 2025)